Hustead, Johnson, McMullen Take Legacy Stateline Shootout Victories; Terrana Tops UTV Field

Images via Harlen Foley

Defending Legacy Racing Association Unlimited Truck champion Eric Hustead remains the racer to beat in the second-year series after scoring another victory in Friday and Saturday’s Stateline Shootout in Primm. Hustead extended his class win streak to three after wins in last fall’s VT Construction Battleground race, also in Primm, and this January’s 4WP Desert Showdown in Pahrump.

Hustead posted the overall winning time of 2:35:58 after completing 16 laps of the nine-mile course across two days, besting everyone in his run group on Friday and all but Class 1 racer Nick May on Saturday. His class win came by a comfortable 16-minute margin over Jack Olliges, and his overall victory came by three minutes on Class 1 winner Jake Johnson, who also won in Pahrump.

In Class 6100, Conner McMullen, Chad Dohrman, and Adam Householder were separated by just minutes all weekend long before settling on the podium in that order. Householder beat McMullen by only four seconds and Dohrman by just over a minute on Friday, but McMullen found another gear on Saturday to beat Dohrman by more than a minute as Householder was fifth on the second day. 11 of the 17 class starters made it to the finish, with Desert Showdown winner Chasen Gaunt completing the list. Dohrman’s wife Jessica made it two podiums for the family on the weekend after winning the UTV Stock Mod class as well.

In the professional UTV classes, it was Joe Terrana taking top honors in UTV Turbo to complete an impressive two-week span after finishing second in the Best in the Desert Silver State 300 the previous weekend. Terrana had a more than six-minute advantage over Randy Romo at the finish, with Cody Schafer completing the class podium. Carson Wernimont bested Kaden Wells and Austin Bolton in a talent-rich UTV NA class, while Mike Lesle earned the UTV Unlimited victory.

The second season of Legacy Racing Association action continues on June 22-25 with the return of the Vision Wheel Baja Nevada, which will shift from a two-day event to one for its second running. Last summer’s event saw the Concrete Motorsports duo of Kevin Thompson and Harley Letner take the overall win by three minutes on Hustead, while Johnson, Brent Fox (Class 6100), Dan Fisher (UTV Turbo), and Maddie Wedeking (UTV NA) were also among those to conquer the nearly 650-mile inaugural event.

Chris Leone

A veteran of the motorsports industry (both physical and digital), Chris Leone contributes coverage of race events of all types to Off-Road Racer. Elsewhere, he is the marketing/communications manager at iRacing, media director of Jim Beaver's Down & Dirty Show, and a frequent contributor to UTV Underground.