Rob MacCachren, Luke McMillin Team Up to Win 2021 SCORE Baja 1000

In one of the longest editions of the SCORE Baja 1000 in the event’s 54-year history, it was a superteam that managed to outlast the competition and take the victory in the more than trek from Ensenada to La Paz. Rob MacCachren took his fifth career victory in the race, while Luke McMillin earned his second straight victory, after facing over 1,200 miles of grueling desert terrain in the biggest event of the year. The victory also enabled MacCachren to lock up this year’s Trophy Truck championship, as incoming leader Larry Roeseler finished eighth.


Gustavo and Tavo Vildosola and Ricky Johnson teamed up to finish second, putting a pair of four-wheel drive Mason Motorsports Trophy Trucks in the top two spots, while Cameron Steele, Ryan Arciero, and Rhys Millen headed up the 2WD entries in the class by finishing third. Brad Wilson took the top spot in Class 1 after a post-race penalty review, while Elijah Kiger prevailed in an exciting Trophy Truck Spec battle that saw much of the top five do battle throughout the race.


One of SCORE’s most intense championship battles all season long came in Pro UTV Forced Induction, and it ended in La Paz with Phil Blurton taking his first career SCORE victory. Blurton entered the event second in points between Austin Weiland and Brandon Schueler on the strength of back-to-back podiums in the last two races, and he ended it with a victory. Elias Hanna claimed the victory in the Normally Aspirated class, while Mike Cafro (Pro Stock UTV) and Justin Elenburg (Pro UTV Open) wrapped up perfect seasons in their respective divisions.


In Pro Moto Unlimited, Mark Samuels returned to the class to defend last year’s victory, and led his team to a win; his fifth Baja 1000 victory in seven years ensured that a different team won all four of this year’s SCORE events. Ironically enough, Sam Felipe 250 winner Derek Ausserbauer, Baja 500 winner Jason Alosi, and Baja 400 winner Shane Redline were the next three finishers in class.

History was also made in Class 7, as NTT IndyCar Series star Alexander Rossi became the first driver in racing history to win the Indianapolis 500, 24 Hours of Daytona, and Baja 1000 as part of the driver lineup on Jeff Proctor’s factory-backed Honda team. Rossi became the first Indy 500 winner to take a Baja victory since Parnelli Jones, who teamed with Bill Stroppe to take the famed “Big Oly” Ford Bronco to back-to-back overall wins in 1971 and 1972.

Click here for full unofficial results from the 2021 SCORE Baja 1000.

The 2021 SCORE World Desert Championship begins on March 29-April 3 with the 35th San Felipe 250, before resuming with the 54th Baja 500 on June 1-5, 3rd Baja 400 on September 14-18, and 55th Baja 1000 on November 15-20. Check out Ernesto Araiza’s gallery from the race below!

Chris Leone

A veteran of the motorsports industry (both physical and digital), Chris Leone contributes coverage of race events of all types to Off-Road Racer. Elsewhere, he is the marketing/communications manager at iRacing, media director of Jim Beaver's Down & Dirty Show, and a frequent contributor to UTV Underground.